“Se Kanzlerduell” (TV Debate) in Germany

 

spindoctors Kopie

I really would like to know how the candidates for the TV Debate are prepared. Is Karl Lagerfeld part of the “Glam Squad”, does Sabine Christiansen give Make up tips?

Yesterday the german public experienced a  TV debate between the chancelor Angela Merkel and her opponent Frank-Walter Steinmeier in preparation for the Bundestagswahl (election of the german House of Representatives) . These debates are an import from US-american political campaigns to spice up german politics.
This is the third time in German TV-history, as far as I remember, that we have to suffer through one of these socalled duells.
It was not really a fight or a duell, very civil and calm. I actually liked that, but the Interviewers (4 of them) got so bored that one feared they would start throwing spitballs at each other.
I hope that in course of time the broadcasting stations will masters this format. I will stand by and give my support by switching on and watch despite the suffering.

Tags: ,


