The Vice of Eating

reduced guiltOne last little thing from my trip.

Americans have a liking of the feeling of guilt. At least that’s the impression I had. And especially if it concerns food and indulgence. Is that because they are all lutheran, baptists, evangelicals and that sort of thing and they never had the cleansing facility of a good ol´catholic confession?

I saw a sign in the streets that said “Control your calories. Eat less!” It is all about control one gets the feeling. Control whatever animal drive tries to trick you into indulging. But I discovered the food industry has a remedy.

Get absolution while you are eating! Especially for me as an ex-catholic a tempting possibility to get rid of all smut that I have piled up in all those godless years. Here is the nourishment that helps to lessen my burden.


